Flinders University Library
Search Smart

Online Resources

Find out how to search for online resources

undefined

Online Information Resources

You have access to millions of information sources for your assignments, even with the closure of the physical library collection. See below for hints and tips on the different types of online information you have access to.

Research Databases

There are 400+ online databases which provide access to peer-reviewed journals, newspapers, plays, literature and primary source documents. Select the link below to view.

Hint: Use the topic filter in the A to Z list to filter the list of databases to your topic area. Filtering databases by type can also be very handy.

How to find online information sources

Read - and watch - on to learn how to find the different types of online information you can access while studying online.

eBooks

Written by academics for an academic audience.

Identical content as printed books, just in electronic format.

Find them using FindIt@Flinders, or search individual eBook databases through the A to Z Database List.

Check these popular user guides for Ebook Central (ProQuest) and EBSCO Ebooks.

Journal Articles

Also called scholarly, academic or refereed articles.

Written by academics for an academic audience.

Have gone through a quality control process called Peer Review.

Find them using FindIt@Flinders, or search individual databases through the A to Z Database List.

Newspapers

Newspapers cover local news and are available in every country in the world.

Available in print and online formats.

Find them using FindIt@Flinders (print and online) or through the databases Australia and New Zealand Newsstream and Factiva.

Historical Primary Sources

A document or physical object written or created during the time under study.

Offer an inside view of an event or time period.

An increasing number of primary sources have been digitised and can be found online.

Find them through this list of Primary Sources.

You can also find them through Google. Search for your topic along with a keyword such as:

  • archive
  • documents
  • diaries
  • personal narratives
  • sources
  • diaries

Grey Literature

Government reports, conference papers, statistics, standards and many other types of information not published in books or journals.

Most likely not peer reviewed.

Find Grey Literature using our guide.

Audio-Visual

Find streaming video using FindIt@Flinders, or search individual databases through the A to Z Database List.

Plays and Literature

Can be found in digital formats.

Find them using FindIt@Flinders

Performance Reviews

Published reviews of theatre performances.

Find them using FindIt@Flinders, AusStage or ANZ Newsstream

undefined

Indigenous Issues and Viewpoints

Learn all about Indigenous issues and viewpoints in our detailed guide here.

Getting Help

Check the website to view our current Librarian support hours.

Book a librarian

Our Book a Librarian service can provide you with help from a Librarian in a one-on-one, 30 minute online appointment.

Book a time that is convenient to you for assistance with:

  • Finding resources for your assignment
  • Creating effective search strategies
  • Navigating and searching in different databases

Phone

1300 354 633 (select option 3 for the Library and FLO Help)

undefined

Library chat

Select the chat widget on the Library website to chat to a Librarian online.