Library Research Tools
Library Research Databases
What are Library Research Databases?
- The library subscribes to over 400 research databases that allow you to access thousands of journal articles, ebooks, newspaper articles, video and more.
- Research databases are online resources but the content is only available to Flinders University staff and students when you sign in with your FAN and password.
- Can be multidisciplinary - e.g. ProQuest or discipline specific e.g. PsycINFO
- Many databases provide full text articles but some are only citations and you use the FindIt@Flinders links to access our subscription.
The entry for each item (book, ebook etc.) on the database is called a record and each record contains bibliographic information in fields such as:
- title (article, book chapter, object)
- source publication title
- issue/part number
- date of publication
- descriptors/ subject headings
Why do I need to use them?
Library research databases are the key tool to accessing most of the academic resources available in print and electronic format. FindIt@Flinders is also a database. Most academic, peer reviewed, scholarly information is not freely available on the internet. You may discover an article through a Google search but when you try to use it you will be asked to pay to access. By using FindIt@Flinders and the library research databases you can access all this material that we subscribe to on your behalf.
How do I know which one to use?
- The Find Databases link located on top right of the FindIt@Flinders search page provides an A-Z list of databases that also allows you to select databases by subject and by type.
- Search FindIt@Flinders, Limit by collection to find the best databases to use in that subject area.
- Ask a librarian or your subject specialist - supervisor, topic coordinator, tutor etc. what are the best databases in a particular research area.
Things to consider when using library research databases
- Many search strategies can be used to make library research database searching more efficient.
- Each database handles search strategies such as boolean operators and truncation in different ways.
- All databases have excellent help pages and quick tips on how to apply a search.