Side Nav Template with 3 columns
Flinders University Library
Search Smart

Readings for Topic Coordinators:Readings information for Staff

Readings for Topic Coordinators

Flinders University has moved to a new Readings (Leganto) list management system in 2019. The new Readings system allows for more customisation of Reading lists by Topic Coordinators and teaching staff.

Benefits of Readings

With Readings, you can assemble materials of all types - physical books, ebooks, online or digitsed book chapters, scholarly articles, videos, newspaper articles, websites, and more - to create a structured, comprehensive resource list. Build a resource list by yourself or collaborate with others, such as colleagues or librarians. Update and edit reading materials at any time throughout the teaching period.

Structure resources to your topics needs (for example readings in week or module order). Textbook lists will be integrated with Readings to make one comprehensive reading list for students. 

Readings is a live, dynamic system. Students can see new items as they are added, report broken links and request library loans from the within the system.

Using Readings is also the easiest and most straightforward way to ensure compliance with all licences, as the library will manage copyright compliance.

How Readings works in FLO 

Reading lists are connected to FLO via an LTI (Learning Tools Interoperability) link. This link sends information to the library system and brings back the list associated with the short course code for your FLO topic. Reading lists are immediately visible to instructors, who can publish the list for students. 

A FLO site can have multiple reading lists (i.e. Workshop Readings, Lecture Readings) however the Reading list will be unique to that FLO site.

If your topic has multiple FLO sites (i.e. on-campus and a separate distance site), each site will have an independent Reading list.

You can copy (duplicate) a list and associate it with a different FLO site. Each list will need to be edited separately once it has been associated with a new FLO site.

Each Reading list will also need to be sent to the library for copyright checks as this happens per list not per topic.

Links in FLO

Due to each FLO site having a unique Readings list we highly recommend not having direct links to readings embedded within your FLO site, instead it is best to refer students to the main Reading list.

If you do with to embed links within your FLO site, we recommend using an LTI link to a section rather than an individual reading.

Due to authentication, permalinks will currently only provide guest access.

Textbooks are required or recommended books needed for your topic. Flinders University has an online web form for collecting information on Textbooks.

This is the only process that will be used to support both the ordering of textbooks from the Co-op Bookshop and associated Library services. Results of the form are sent to Co-op regularly

If you are a Topic Coordinator in the Student System please fill out the Textbook form for you topics at availability level.  Please fill out the form on the web after logging in with your FAN.

Note that if you are off campus, you will need to use the Flinders VPN. Click here to access the VPN. 

If you are not a topic Coordinator, or you have been incorrectly identified as a Topic Coordinator, please log in anyway.  There is an entry box where you can identify the correct Topic Coordinator in the form, and help us fix any system inaccuracies.

If you need help using the form please contact the Learning Access Team via the Readings query in Service One, found under the Education Services tab.

What goes into the High Demand collection?

The High Demand collection at each branch contains 2-hour loan copies of high demand titles. High demand items are usually textbooks or items that are heavily requested. The High Demand collection is reviewed at the end of the year.  All titles with low use (0-2 loans) will be moved to the open shelves as 7 day loan copies.

  • Newly required textbook titles will have a 2-hour loan copy ordered.
  • Titles that have 5+ requests will have a copy ordered or transferred into the High Demand collection.
  • Multiple 2 hour loan copies, if there is a high level of requests and/or high level of use for the first 2-hour loan copy.

The Library will place items in the High Demand collection on request. However, they will be removed from the collection if use is low.

What does not go in the High Demand collection? 

The Library will not place a physical/print copy in the 2-hour loan collection if:

  • there is a multi-user eBook version. If the eBook version is available for only 1-3 users, a print copy may be placed in the High Demand 2-hour loan collection.
  • the title is for an online course only. A copy will be placed in the SendIt collection instead.

It is the responsibility of all staff to adhere to copyright guidelines provided on the Flinders University website: http://www.flinders.edu.au/library/copyright/teaching/guidelines.cfm. By using the Readings list system the Library will ensure compliance with all licences, we will contact you if there is difficulty sourcing a requested resource.

These guidelines apply to materials from books, printed journals, online journals, newspaper articles and documents downloaded from websites. Library staff can advise you if there are copyright problems with any request submitted, and will assist to find a solution, to ensure the University does not breach our copyright licence with the Copyright Agency.

Loading ...

Workshop Sessions at Central Library!

Need to create or manage a topic Reading list?

Come along to a workshop session and get it done!

In this hands-on workshop you will learn the fundamentals and key features of Readings, and have an opportunity to create your reading list during the session with assistance from Library experts.

Enrol online to reserve your place and we hope to see you there!

Get started on your Reading list!

Have questions? Need help?

Contact the Learning Access Team via the Readings query in Service One

Love your readings list!