Flinders University Library
Search Smart

Library Research Tools

Use this guide to decide the best search tools to use to find resources for your research

UlrichsWeb: Global Serials Directory

UlrichsWeb: Global Serials Directory

UlrichWeb is a database about journals and is useful for identifying journals in a subject area, check if they are peer reviewed and in what database they are indexed or available in full text.

UlrichsWeb is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,00 periodicals of all types, academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters and more from around the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and that are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

Why would I use it?

  • To determine if a journal peer-reviewed.
  • To determine what journal to submit articles for publication.
  • To find some journals in your field to use as a starting point in a literature search.
  • To discover in which library research databases a journal is indexed and for what years.
  • To discover the library research databases to access a journal in full text.
  • To check if a journal has any name changes.
  • To determine information about the journals .publisher, editors etc.

Search

Search all our guides.