Choosing which database to search will depend on what you are looking for and how extensive your search needs to be. Use the tabs across the top here to find useful databases, using the brief descriptions to guide you in your choice.
Evidence-based resources allow you to access evidence that has appraised and drawn conclusions from the primary research. These resources are particularly important when undertaking evidence-based research.
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals. This database indexes journals from the fields of nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. & consumer health . It also indexes healthcare books and dissertations.
Provides access to citations from the international biomedicine & life sciences literature. In addition to content indexed with NLM’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), this version of Medline includes recently published content with the following NLM statuses: Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, Daily, Versions(R)
BMJ Best Practice provides he latest evidence-based information with step by step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention. Updated daily using robust evidence based methodology and expert opinion
Combines the latest research evidence from Clinical Evidence, with peer-reviewed expert opinion and guidelines. Structured around the patient consultation it covers diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and preventions.
Research evidence, guidelines, expert opinion and decision-support information with a step-by-step approach that is structured around the patient consultation, covering diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention. It fits information around real, diverse and evolving medical information needs to give users a second opinion in an instant.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Focus is on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Web of Science searches the following indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED), Index Chemicus (IC).
An indexed and abstracted database of peer-reviewed scientific and medical research, largely in full text. Focus is on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) provides a readily accessible, concise, up-to-date source of independent drug information to facilitate effective, rational, safe and economical prescribing and dispensing. Includes three main types of information: drug monographs, class statements and therapeutic information.
The purpose of the AMH is two-fold: firstly, to provide a readily accessible, concise, up-to-date source of independent drug information to facilitate effective, rational, safe and economical prescribing and dispensing; secondly, to provide an educational tool for practitioners and students. There are three main types of information in the AMH: drug monographs, class statements and therapeutic information. All are written primarily to provide information about medicines.
Peer reviewed clinical guidelines for prescribing. Includes analgesia, antibiotics, cardiovascular, respiratory, endocrinology, neurology, gastroenterology, dermatology, palliative care, psychotropics & drug prescribing in pregnancy & breastfeeding.
Therapeutic Guidelines are written principally for prescribers (general practitioners and trainee physicians in particular) to provide clear, practical, succinct and up-to-date therapeutic information, for the management of patients with specific conditions. The Guidelines are based on the latest international literature, interpreted by some of Australia’s most eminent and respected experts, with input from an extensive network of general practitioners and other users. The information is independent and unbiased and is a distillation of current evidence and opinion.Therapeutic Guidelines are comprehensive in that they cover all common disorders seen in clinical practice. Topics and sections are arranged according to diagnostic entities. Each section gives sufficient surrounding information to orient the reader, followed by succinct and explicit recommendations for therapy. The Guidelines are not primarily meant to instruct, but rather to assist prescribers.