Flinders University Library
Search Smart

Information Types - Law

Legislation terminology

Act (aka Statute)
Amending Act
As made - Act, Delegated Legislation (aka Sessional, Numbered)Authorised legislation
Bill
Consolidated
Current - Act, Delegated Legislation (aka Reprinted, Consolidated)
Delegated legislation (aka Subordinate legislation)
Explanatory memorandum
Government gazette
Hansard
Legislative instrument
Numbered (see 'As made' above)
Parliamentary papers
Principal Act
Proclamation
Regulation
Reprinted
Sessional
Statute
Subordinate legislation

 

Act (aka Statute)

A decree proclaiming the law, passed by the legislature and given Royal Assent by the Crown.
LexisNexis Concise Australian Dictionary (LexisNexis, 5th ed, 2015)

See also: 'As made', 'Current', 'Principal Act', 'Historical', 'Amending Act'

 

Amending Act

An Act the alters the operation of an earlier Act.
LexisNexis Concise Australian Dictionary (LexisNexis, 5th ed, 2015)

 

As made - Act, Delegated Legislation (aka Sessional, Numbered)

Legislation in the form as originally enacted, not incorporating any subsequent amendments.
LexisNexis Concise Australian Dictionary (LexisNexis, 5th ed, 2015)

The term 'Sessional' refers to the Act as passed in a particular session (or year) of Parliament.
The term 'Numbered' refers to the sequential number each Act passed is given during a session of Parliament.

 

Authorised legislation

The official version of legislation.
This version is generally the preferred version to cite in court.
For South Australia, legislation printed by the Government Printer is authorised. Online versions are not.
For Commonwealth, select documents on ComLaw are authorised - these are identified by a 'tick' logo.

 

Bill

The draft form of an Act, as introduced into Parliament.

 

Consolidated (see 'Current' below)

 

Current - Act, Delegated Legislation (aka Reprinted, Consolidated)

A version of legislation that incorporates all amendments since the original legislation was enacted.
The term 'Reprinted' refers to the process of reprinting, or republishing, the Act or Delegated legislation each time amendments come into force.
The term 'Consolidated' refers to the process of consolidating the amendments into the original Act or Delegated Legislation.

 

Delegated legislation (aka Subordinate legislation)

Legislation made by a person or body other than Parliament, under authority granted to that person or body by an Act of Parliament.
Includes: regulations, by-laws, rules, ordinances, etc.
LexisNexis Concise Australian Dictionary (LexisNexis, 5th ed, 2015)

 

Explanatory memorandum

A document issued with a Bill to explain the aims and operation of the proposed legislation.

 

Government gazette

An official journal published by government, containing information such as: proclamations that bring legislation into operation; notification of government decisions and subordinate legislation; public service appointments; government ternders; and electoral notices.
LexisNexis Concise Australian Dictionary (LexisNexis, 5th ed, 2015)

 

Hansard

A record of parliamentary debates and speeches made in Parliament.

 

Legislative instrument

The term given to Commonwealth delegated legislation.

 

Numbered (see 'As made' above)

 

Parliamentary papers

Papers presented to Parliament.
Includes documents such as: annual reports of government agencies; reports of royal commissions and other government inquiries; and parliamentary committee reports.

 

Principal Act

An Act of Parliament that deals comprehensively with a given area of law.
LexisNexis Concise Australian Dictionary (LexisNexis, 5th ed, 2015)

 

Proclamation

1. The act of formally and publicly announing, publishing, or declaring something issued and ordained by a competent authority.
2. A formal, public announcement.
3. Publication in the Government Gazette of the consent of the Governor-General for the commencement of legislation.
LexisNexis Concise Australian Dictionary (LexisNexis, 5th ed, 2015)

 

Regulation (see 'Delegated legislation' above)

 

Reprinted (see 'Current' above)

 

Sessional (see 'As made' above)

 

Statute (see 'Acts' above)

 

Subordinate legislation (see 'Delegated legislation' above)

Search

Search all our guides.