Flinders University Library
Search Smart

Information Types

Get started finding different kinds of information for your research

Theses

All Flinders University theses held by the library are catalogued on FindIt@Flinders

The library holds copies of all higher degree theses (doctorates and masters level), either in digital or hard copy format. Many honours theses are also held in hard copy

To Search on FindIt@Flinders for Flinders Theses by Discipline

1. Select Advanced Search

2. Select 'in subject' from the first drop down box, then 'contains' in the next drop down box

3. Search for [discipline name] thesis

  • nursing thesis
  • archaeology thesis
  • biological sciences thesis
  • public health thesis

This will produce a complete list of all theses held in the Thesis Collection for that discipline.

Search tips

  • To restrict to a degree type, add another term to your search for one of the following:
    •   doctorate
    •    masters
    •    honours
    •    diploma
  • Add other elements to your search to limit it, e.g. search terms such as subject, author, title, keywords
  • Sort the list by Date - Newest to see most recent theses first.

 

Valid Discipline names

Check the discipline/department names tab to find what terms may have been used to index theses . Discipline and department names often change, and the most recent names can be found on the University website.

Note that earlier theses in your discipline may use an earlier form of the discipline or department's name.

Please be aware that theses from some departments may cross discipline boundaries so it may be preferable to do a subject keyword search, including the words 'flinders' and 'thesis' if satisfactory results are not found using the discipline search.

 

Digital Theses

Many theses are available online. You can find digital theses at the link below. From 2014 the submission of research higher degree digital theses have become mandatory. 

Trove

Using Trove, you can search the catalogues of all Australian university libraries simultaneously - this will include details of all theses available in library collections and digital repositories.

Tip: use the advanced search feature and select the format 'thesis'

Select "thesis" from the format drop down menu

International Theses

Dissertation Abstracts International

This is a print reference tool providing abstracts for theses in all academic disciplines in US doctoral-granting institutions. Flinders Library holds (in the SA Universities Research Repository) the following:

  • Dissertation abstracts. A, The humanities and social sciences, 1966-1996
  • Dissertation abstracts. B, Sciences and engineering, 1969-1996
  • Comprehensive dissertation index, 1861-1972

Subject Sets of DAI Abstracts

DAI Abstracts for a variety of subject areas are also available online via the following subscription databases (mostly on the OVID or CSA Illumina platforms.) It is usually a case of limiting a keyword or subject search to a dissertation publication type or source.

ERIC Educational Information Resources Centre (via ProQuest)

Other Databases

Valid Discipline names

The list below includes discipline/department names which may have been used to index theses. Discipline and department names often change, and the most recent names can be found on the University website.

Note that earlier theses in your discipline may use an earlier form of the discipline or department's name.

Please be aware that theses from some departments may cross discipline boundaries so it may be preferable to do a subject keyword search, including the words 'flinders' and 'thesis' if satisfactory results are not found using the discipline search.

Ageing Studies
American Studies
Anaesthesia & Intensive Care
Anatomy and Histology
Aquaculture
Archaeology
Art History
Asian Studies
Audiology
Australian Studies
Bioinformatics
Biodiversity and Conservation
Biology
Biotechnology
Biological Sciences
Business
Cardiology
Chemistry
Chinese
Clinical Immunology
Clinical Pharmacology
Commerce
Computational Modelling
Computer Science
Creative Arts
Criminal Justice
Cultural Studies
Cultural Tourism
Curriculum and Teaching
Development Studies
Disability Studies
Drama
Drama, Production
Drama Studies
Disability and Rehabilitation Studies
Earth Sciences
Economic History
Economics
Ecotourism
Education
Endocrinology
Engineering
English
English as a Second Language
Environmental Health
Environmental management
Environmental Science
Environmental Studies
Forensic & Analytical Chemistry
French
Geography
German
Globalisation
Haematology
Health Education
Health & Physical Education
Health Sciences
Health Service Management
Housing Management
Humanities
Indonesian
History
Human Physiology
Hydrology
International Management
International Studies
International Relations
Italian
Japanese
Justice and Society
Languages
Latin American Studies
Law
Legal Studies
Linguistics
Marine Geology and Geophysics
Mathematical Sciences
Mathematics
Media Studies
Medical Biochemistry
Medical Biotechnology
Medicinal Chemistry
Medical Science
Medicine
Mental Health Sciences
Meteorology and Oceanography
Microbiology & Infectious Diseases
Midwifery
Modern European Culture
Modern Greek
Multicultural Studies
Musculoskeletal Medicine
Musicology
Nanotechnology
Natural History Film Making
Natl Inst of Labour Studies
Neuroscience
Neurosurgery
Nursing
Nutrition
Nutrition and Dietetics
Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Oceanography (No longer used)
Ophthalmology
Overseas
Paediatrics
Paediatrics and Child Health
Palliative Care
Pathology
Pharm & Molecular Synthesis
Pharmacy
Philosophy
Physics
Policy and Administration
Politics
Population and Human Resources
Portuguese
Primary Health Care
Professional Studies
Psychiatry
Psychology
Public Health
Radiotherapy and Clinical Oncology
Rehabilitation
Science, Technology and Enterprise
Screen Studies
Social Administration
Social Work
Sociology
Spanish
Spanish and Portuguese
Special Education
Speech Pathology
Statistical Science
Surgery
Theology
Tourism
Visual Arts
Visual Arts and Archaeology
Water Resources Management
Water Management
Women's Studies

Loading

Search

Search all our guides.