Get started finding different kinds of information for your research
What are Academic Books?
- Also called scholarly books (may be peer reviewed) and sometimes called monographs
- Written by academics for an academic audience
- Usually very expensive to buy so the library buys them on your behalf.
- Can be authored by one or more authors or edited works where many authors contribute chapters.
- In hard copy and eBook format.
- Most are published by the major academic suppliers e.g. University Presses (See below for link to Academic Publisher List on Wikipeadia)
Why do I need to use them?
- Authoritative and credible. Includes in-text citations and reference lists.
- Provides in-depth analysis of a topic.
- You may be required to read them or at least some chapters from the for your assignments and required readings.
- Handbooks, companions, textbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias will give you a good overview of a topic and help you discover keywords, authors, theorists and concepts that may be useful for finding other academic resources in the area.
How do I find them at Flinders?
- Search for books on FindIt@Flinders - See the FindIt@Flinders Search Smart Guide for more information.
- Need to find the location number to find a book in the library
- Books are arranged on the shelves by Dewey Decimal system (See video and link for more information on Finding a book and Dewey Subject Categories)
- Organised by collections in each branch library, Central, Law, Medical and Sturt.
- Readings and Library Resources link on FLO
What if the book I want isn't available at Flinders?
- Try other University libraries (see reciprocal borrowing link on left for more information)
- Search for items on Libraries Australia/WorldCAT/Trove
- Recommend the library purchase books for the collection
- Post graduates and staff request interlibrary loans through our document delivery service.
Want to learn more?
What are Textbooks? (see also Readings and eReadings)
- Usually assigned by topic coordinators and listed in topic handbook or FLO page or the Unibook website.
- May be academic/peer reviewed or scholarly
- May be electronic but usually in print
- We may hold many different editions (versions) of a textbook
- We usually hold multiple copies (see video below for more information)
- We usually have a copy available for 2 hour loan in the Readings Collection of each branch
Why would I use them?
- Textbooks may be required reading for your topic and you may choose to purchase them but watch the short video above before deciding if this is necessary.
- However identifying textbooks in a new area can help you get some basic information and references to get you started with your research
How do I find them?
- If searching for the textbook for a topic you are enrolled in, use the Readings and library resources link on your FLO topic pages.
- If you want to find a textbook to get some background information on a topic search for a broad keyword in FindIt@Flinders e.g. Politics and limit the search to Readings
- You could also try a Google search for university text books and a broad keyword e.g. Sociology - then check FindIt@Flinders to see if we hold the book electronically or in hard copy.