Skip to main content
Flinders University Library
Search Smart

Search Smart Orientation: Getting Started

Welcome to Flinders Library

The Library will provide you with access to millions of books, journals and online databases across our 4 branches, as well as computer labs, silent study zones and collaborative workspaces. Study zones are open 24 hours. Friendly and knowledgeable staff are on hand to help you make the most of these resources and achieve your academic goals.

Use this guide as a starting point to find out about the Library services and resources available to you.  There are 3 sections in this guide:

Using the Library

Research Skills

Off campus library services

PLUS A Library Quiz - practice using the tools that will make finding resources easier

Using the Library

  • Students can borrow 100 items at one time      
  • High demand items such as text books are available for 2 hour or 7 day loan.
  • Usual loan period for books is 28 day loan.
  • 7 Day and 28 Day loans will automatically renew unless someone puts a request on your book. You receive an email from the library when your loans are due back. More Info

FindIt@Flinders is a search tool that allows you to search the library's online and physical collections including textbooks, readings, journal articles and much more. It's an excellent place to start your research! More Info

Flinders University staff and students can place a request on:

  • Items on the shelf that are available at any Flinders library branch
  • Items on loan to another user
  • Items at another Flinders branch Library which can be collected at your preferred branch.
  • Items not available in our collection – Staff and Postgraduate students can request items not held in our collection via the Document Delivery Service. Undergraduate students are not eligible for Document Delivery but are able to borrow in person from selected libraries under our Reciprocal Borrowing Scheme.

Read more about this service

  • Once you've found your book in FindIt@flinders you will need its location number to find it in the library
  • If the location number begins with an 'f' or 'ef' it is a large book and is shelved separately in the large book section.  More Info
  • Books are organised by collections in each branch library: Central, Law, Medical and Sturt.
  • We have multiple copies of textbooks available for loan from the library.
  • You can find out what textbooks you need  from your Topic pages in Flinders Learning Online (FLO).  Scroll down to see a video on how to find your textbook in the library.

What are eReadings?

  • Articles and book chapters on your required reading list carefully selected by academics to guide you and help your understanding of the topic
  • Links to journal articles in FindIt@Flinders
  • Scanned copies of book chapters

Why should I use eReadings?

  • Required for lectures and tutorials
  • Good place to start when looking for your own research on a subject

How do I find them?

  • Readings and library resources link on your topics' FLO pages.

  • Readings and Past Exams link on the library homepage

  • More Info
  • There is 24 hour access to Level 0 and Level 1 at Central Library, and Sturt and Medical library labs, free wifi, cafe, and hundreds of computers. 
  • There are 3 noise level restrictions to suit your study needs - social on Level 1, quiet on level 2 and silent on level 3. 
  • Group study rooms are available to book

  • Use your student card to pay for printing and photocopying
  • If you need any assistance see the information desk or visit the Unicard shop located on level 1, inside the Central Library
  • Unicard copy shop website

We are always here to help.  Here's how to contact us:

  • There are Library Information help desks located at each Flinders Library branch.
  • phone 1300 354 633 select 3 for Library and FLO Help
  • email library@flinders.edu.au
  • Keep up to date and ask us questions through and
  • Library FAQs
Loading

Off campus library services

Off campus library services are available to Flinders University students who fulfil at least one of the following criteria:

  • Students studying fully online or fully externally, or students on placement. 
  • Students who live outside of the Adelaide metropolitan area. 
  • Students who are not based at the Bedford Park campus.

The library can provide you with loans of books delivered via StarTrack couriers. We can also supply copies of journal articles, book chapters and many other resources (within copyright) to your Flinders email address as pdf attachments, You will need to register before you can use the service - to do so please click here.

 

Off campus Flinders University students can place a request on:

  • Items on the shelf from any Flinders library branch
  • Items on loan to another user
  • Items at another Flinders branch Library which can be sent to you or collected at your preferred branch.

How to place a request:

Once you are registered....

  • Login to Findit@Flinders, search the catalogue and select the book you would like to be sent to you.
  • Select the request button and select "Off Campus Library Service"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Items not available in our collection – Staff and Postgraduate students can request items not held in our collection via the Document Delivery Service. Undergraduate students are not eligible for Document Delivery but are able to borrow in person from selected libraries under our Reciprocal Borrowing Scheme.

 

Flinders University Library is your gateway to accessing all the resources you need for your assignments.

We are always here to help.  Here's how to contact us:

  • There are Library Information help desks located at each Flinders Library branch.
  • phone 1300 354 633 select 3 for Library and FLO Help
  • email library@flinders.edu.au
  • Keep up to date and ask us questions through and
  • Library FAQs
Loading

Research Skills

The library provides a large range of information types from the type of academic sources your lecturers will be expecting you to use for your research. This includes journal articles, readings, books, conference papers and thesis.

We also provide access to a range of media including national and international newspapers and streamed media etc. Click here for more information  about searching and using each of these information types.

FindIt@Flinders is an excellent place to start your research, as it will help you find and access thousands of journal articles, ebooks, newspaper articles, media and more.

The library also provides access to many other search tools including over 300 research databases. Click through to the Research Tools Library guide for help on the best search tools to use to find resources for your research, as well as tips on how to use them.

With access to so many search tools and so many resources it can be tricky finding exactly what you need. Click through to the Search Strategies library guide for lots of tips and strategies for searching library search tools. The guide includes information about using keywords, Boolean searching, truncation, wildcards, phrases & subject headings.

Primary, Secondary, Quantitative and Qualitative Research - do you need help understanding these terms?

For more information on identifying different types of academic research click here.

Peer Reviewed articles are written by academics for an academic audience.  They have gone through a quality control process called Peer Review where experts in the field have agreed that the methodology and arguments are sound. You can find peer review articles in FindIt@Flinders and many of our library databases.

Watch the video below on how to find peer review articles in FindIt@Flinders or follow this link for further information.

Understanding how to assess the credibility of the information you come across in your study and research is essential.

Click through to a Library Skills guide to help you evaluate sources before you use them in your assignments.

We are always here to help.  Here's how to contact us:

  • There are Library Information help desks located at each Flinders Library branch.
  • phone 1300 354 633 select 3 for Library and FLO Help
  • email library@flinders.edu.au
  • Keep up to date and ask us questions through and
  • Library FAQs
Loading

Library Quiz

The Library Search Smart Quiz at Flinders enhances Graduate Qualities.
Reading the information on Library Search Smart Online and doing the Quiz will help you increase your ability to use current technology and create effective learning strategies.
Please NoteIf you have done this Quiz in the previous three years, you do NOT have to take it again.