Choosing which database to search will depend on what you are looking for and how extensive your search needs to be. Use the tabs across the top here to find useful databases, using the brief descriptions to guide you in your choice.
For a basic search you would usually want to search at least one or two specialised health databases and one multidisciplinary database.
Evidence-based resources allow you to access evidence that has appraised and drawn conclusions from the primary research. These resources are particularly important when undertaking evidence-based research.
Need more help?:
take a look at the Database tutorials tab above
visit the links on the right for some general search tips
Emcare provides evidence-based literature and the latest scientific advancements that support patient treatment in a wide variety of healthcare settings. Core topics include: nursing, nutrition & dietetics, physiotherapy & rehabilitation, critical & intensive care, geriatrics & palliative care, dermatology & wound care, healthcare management, obstetrics & gynaecology, public & occupational health.
REHABDATA indexes documents in physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.
PsycBITE is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.
These databases contain resources across multiple topic areas, including health. They are particularly good for searching topic areas that cross over with social sciences.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Focus is on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Web of Science searches the following indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED), Index Chemicus (IC).
An indexed and abstracted database of peer-reviewed scientific and medical research, largely in full text. Focus is on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.