Thesis Collection

Special Collections
Location:
Level 3, Central Library (adjacent to the Law Library)
Normal opening hours:
8.30am to 5pm weekdays (excluding public holidays)
Vacation opening hours:
9am to 5pm weekdays (excluding public holidays)
Email:
special.collections@flinders.edu.au
Phone:
8201 5238
Postal address:
Special Collections,
Central Library,
Flinders University,
GPO Box 2100,
ADELAIDE, SA 5001
Format approval
Flinders University's Rules for Higher Degree Theses and Rules for Research Components of Postgraduate Coursework Awards require that higher degree students submit four representative pages of their thesis or research component to the Librarian for approval prior to submission.
Points to note:
- if emailing, please send pdfs of your four pages so they don't lose their format during transmission
- please include your title page, or failing that, make sure you include your full name and faculty and contact details
- the principle element to be checked is whether the margins comply with 1(b) of the Rules
- theses can be printed double-sided provided the margins are mirrored (see page setup in Microsoft Word)
- the library does not provide advice as to bibliographical style
- the university website provides further information regarding Preparing a thesis
Please forward the four representative pages to the Special Collections Librarian
email special.collections@flinders.edu.au
fax 08 8201 2508
mail Special Collections Librarian, Central Library, Flinders University, GPO Box 2100, ADELAIDE SA 5001
in person Special Collections, Level 3, Central Library
The pages will be checked and the student contacted as soon as possible after receipt, and if the pages meet the requirements the faculty will be notified that they have been approved.
Please note that these rules do not apply to honours theses. Consult your department or supervisor for formatting guidelines for honours theses.
Thesis Binding
Flinders University's Rules for Higher Degree Theses and Rules for Research Components of Postgraduate Coursework Awards require that, following successful examination, bound copies of theses and research components are to be provided for the library.
- Rules 9 and 10 for Higher Degree Theses cover the requirements for binding.
- Research Components do not have to be hard bound as long as their binding is secure.
- The university does not provide a binding service.
- Binders may be found by consulting the Yellow Pages.
In the case of Research Higher Degrees, only one bound copy of the thesis is required if the thesis is uploaded to the digital thesis repository. Research components of coursework degrees and honours theses are not accepted in the repository.
All bound copies of higher degree theses must be submitted to your Faculty Office, not direct to the Library.




Loading...
