Provides access to citations from the international biomedicine & life sciences literature. In addition to content indexed with NLM’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), this version of Medline includes recently published content with the following NLM statuses: Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, Daily, Versions(R)
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals. This database indexes more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. & consumer health . It also indexes healthcare books and dissertations. Coverage: 1981-present
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Focus is on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Systematic reviews identify an intervention for a specific disease or other problem in health care, & determines whether or not this intervention works. Access is not available outside Australia.
Resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements.
Australians have access to The Cochrane Library as a result of funding by the Australian Government. Access is not available outside Australia.
SendIt provides support to Flinders University students and staff based externally. Register to request books or print journal articles to be sent to you via the courier service. This service is entirely free of charge.
After you have registered yourself to use this service, to request items from the Flinders University Library collection:
Provide details of what you need using the service's online form or phone using their toll free number 1800625856 (voicemail activated after hours).
Items will be sent via the Library's courier service to be collected from the Reception desk of the Health Sciences Building
When finished with the item you should return it to the staff at the Reception Desk of the Health Sciences Building
Articles or extracts from books may also be delivered to your Flinders email account electronically.
Contact a Librarian:
Please contact Nikki May for help in locating resources, find readings or eReadings and searching through those tricky databases.
There is always a Reference Librarian available during the hours that the library is open. See the link below for opening hours.
Please call 1300 354 633 and select 3 for Library for assistance outside of normal office hours.