You can push your Findit@Flinders search results through to your EndNote Library, either one citation at a time, or in a batch.
Watch the short videos below for instruction on exporting to both EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web.
- If you are having problems inserting references using Endnote with a Mac please click here for instructions on 'How to change the default Mac App for Endnote FIle types'
Whenever you use Google Scholar, you should do so through Flinders Library. Use the Google Scholar link in the Databases A-Z list to ensure you can link back to subscribed resources.
Setting up Google Scholar
Before using Scholar with EndNote, you first need to tell Google what format to export citations in.
For best results, sign in to your Google account first.
Once in Scholar, open the menu (1) and click the settings cog (2)
Under Bibliography Manager, click the Show links to import citations into drop down menu and select EndNote.
Click the Save button.
Importing into from Google Scholar into EndNote
You will now get an Import into EndNote option. Click it to import the reference into EndNote.
Update 28/03/2019 - FOR MAC USERS If you are unable to import references from Google Scholar please select the Refman link instead of the Endnote link.
- Different library databases operate differently with EndNote.
- Most (but not all!) databases will allow you to import a reference directly to EndNote. Look for an option such as Export, Save Citation or Download Citation. Check the specific database help if you can't see an option to export.
- If prompted, select the format to export too (EndNote can use .RIS and .ENW files).
- If you are having problems inserting references using Endnote with a Mac please look at these instructions on 'How to change the default Mac App for Endnote FIle types'
The EndNote You Tube training channel has a playlist of short ‘how to’ videos on how to direct export from some of the most popular databases. These include
- Google Scholar
- Web of Science
- EBSCO host databases
If your chosen database doesn't have an export option, you can still add references to your library manually.
- Click the New Reference button on the toolbar.
- A blank reference will open. From here you can change the reference type. Enter in all the available details for the reference. You don't need to fill in every field, just the ones you can.
- Once finished, click on 'Save Reference' in the 'File' menu.
For more detailed instructions, please refer to page 15 of the Endnote X9 Guided Tour: Windows.
You can also use this screen to edit the details of an existing reference. Just select the reference in the 'Reference List panel' and click on the 'Reference' tab in the 'Reference Detail' panel.