The Library will provide you with access to millions of books, journals and online databases across our 4 branches, as well as computer labs, silent study zones and collaborative workspaces. Study zones are open 24 hours. Friendly and knowledgeable staff are on hand to help you make the most of these resources and achieve your academic goals.
Use this guide as a starting point to find out about the Library services and resources available to you. There are 3 sections in this guide:
PLUS Library World
FindIt@Flinders is a search tool that allows you to search the library's online and physical collections including textbooks, readings, journal articles and much more. It's an excellent place to start your research! More Info
Flinders University staff and students can place a request on:
Off campus library services are available to Flinders University students who fulfil at least one of the following criteria:
The library can provide you with loans of books delivered via StarTrack couriers. We can also supply copies of journal articles, book chapters and many other resources (within copyright) to your Flinders email address as pdf attachments, You will need to register before you can use the service - to do so please click here.
Off campus Flinders University students can place a request on:
How to place a request:
Once you are registered....
Flinders University Library is your gateway to accessing all the resources you need for your assignments.
The library provides a large range of information types from the type of academic sources your lecturers will be expecting you to use for your research. This includes journal articles, readings, books, conference papers and thesis.
We also provide access to a range of media including national and international newspapers and streamed media etc. Click here for more information about searching and using each of these information types.
FindIt@Flinders is an excellent place to start your research, as it will help you find and access thousands of journal articles, ebooks, newspaper articles, media and more.
The library also provides access to many other search tools including over 300 research databases. Click through to the Research Tools Library guide for help on the best search tools to use to find resources for your research, as well as tips on how to use them.
With access to so many search tools and so many resources it can be tricky finding exactly what you need. Click through to the Search Strategies library guide for lots of tips and strategies for searching library search tools. The guide includes information about using keywords, Boolean searching, truncation, wildcards, phrases & subject headings.
Primary, Secondary, Quantitative and Qualitative Research - do you need help understanding these terms?
For more information on identifying different types of academic research click here.
Peer Reviewed articles are written by academics for an academic audience. They have gone through a quality control process called Peer Review where experts in the field have agreed that the methodology and arguments are sound. You can find peer review articles in FindIt@Flinders and many of our library databases.
Watch the video below on how to find peer review articles in FindIt@Flinders or follow this link for further information.
Understanding how to assess the credibility of the information you come across in your study and research is essential.
Click through to a Library Skills guide to help you evaluate sources before you use them in your assignments.