Year 11 & 12 at Flinders University Library
Get started using the Flinders University Library book collection and a whole lot more!
Google doesn't have everything!
As the image to the right indicates, Google doesn't allow access to all resources on the Internet. Many academic or quality resources you need to use for your SACE projects are hidden in the deep web behind pay walls. Libraries around South Australia pay for access to this material on your behalf.
You may be able to discover some academic resources through a Google search but when you try to access the text you will often be asked to pay. We strongly recommend that you don't pay for anything but instead return to one of the recommended libraries (Flinders University Library - Search Computers in the Library only), The State Library of South Australia (eResources - you need to get a library card) or the National Library (eResources - you need to get a library card) or your Local Public Library Network to find the resource. Once you find it you are usually required to login with your barcode and password to identify as a member of the library community.
Use Flinders University to borrow academic books and to access online material on our Search Computers in the Library. You can also access quality resources through the National Library, The State Library of South Australia and your Local Council Library from anywhere 24/7. Use these links to sign up for membership:
Borrow from our extensive book collection!
- All Year 11 & 12 students are eligible to apply for Flinders Library membership.
- Apply by emailing email@example.com
- Students can borrow 20 items at one time from the Flinders University Library Collection.
- High demand items such as text books are available for 2 hour or 7 day loan.
- Usual loan period for books is 28 day loan.
- 7 Day and 28 Day loans will automatically renew unless someone puts a request on your book. You receive an email from the library when your loans are due back.
About the Library
As a member of the Flinders University Library you can access millions of books, journals and DVDs across our 4 branch libraries and the Universities Research Repository of South Australia (URRSA).
- The Central Library is the largest with three floors. Find books about the Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences.
- The Law Library is on level 3 of the Central Library building
- The Sturt Library specialises in the fields of nursing, midwifery, disability and optometry
- The Gus Fraenkel Medical Library is located behind the Flinders Medical Centre.
- URRSA is where Flinders University, University of Adelaide and University of South Australia store items that are not in high demand, you can access URRSA Mon-Fri, 12-5pm.
Visit when it suits you!
All our libraries have extensive opening hours. Most days you can get an early 8am start and work late into the evening if you choose. All of our branches also have 24 hours study zones. We are also open weekends and most public holidays. Access our online resources through the Search Computers and don't forget you can return books anytime 24/7.
Find a space to meet your needs
Some people who haven't visited an academic library get a surprise when they enter our space. It is a lot noisier and more social than they expect.
There is a cafe, hundreds of computer work stations, group study rooms and it can be hard to find where books and journals are located.
There are books along with quiet and silent study spaces too!
Search FindIt@Flinders for books in the library
Most of the books in the Flinders University library are written by academics for an academic audience.
It is common for academics to write chapters in an edited work on a particular subject. We have thousands of these edited works in the library collection.
You can usually only find academic texts in academic libraries such as Flinders, Adelaide University and University of South Australia. State and local public libraries tend to stock other kinds of material. Google Books has quite a few scholarly texts but you can usually only access a small proportion of the book which can be frustrating.
Use FindIt@Flinders to find books in any of our libraries. FindIt@Flinders is the search box at the top of the library homepage and even this page. It searches across our book collections and online resources. Keep your searches simple and select the facets on the left of the screen to limit your search. Remember that you can only use the Search Computers in the Library to access Flinders but you can look up books at home before you come in.
Buy a card to pay for printing & photocopying
- Unicard Systems provides all student copy and print services throughout Flinders University
- Students can buy a casual printing and copying card from Cash Reloader machines in each of the libraries. Credit can be added at these machines.
- If you need any assistance with copying / printing / binding or if you need binding supplies, please visit the Unicard Copy and Print Services shop located inside the Central Library, level 1.
Use text books for an overview and to get an understanding of a topic. The Flinders University Library holds textbooks on many subjects. They are written by academics for a student audience and intended to introduce students to the theories, concepts and literature of the topic. you can find them through FindIt@Flinders but check out the link below to access thousands of free academic textbooks online from anywhere.
Use FindIt@Flinders to find academic articles * Flinders Search Computers Only
FindIt@Flinders is a great place to start your research for academic articles for your essays.
FindIt@Flinders searches across thousands of journal titles in every subject.
You can limit your searches to Peer Review to ensure it is of a high quality.
Searches can result in large numbers of results so visit the help pages through the link below for ideas on how to find what you need.
Use the Proquest database to find articles * Flinders Search Computers Only
ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research in:
- The Arts
- Health & Medicine
- Literature & Language
- Science & Technology
- Social Sciences
It is relatively easy to use and many of the sources are available in fulltext. It also contains Newspaper articles, trade papers and other useful resources. Proquest contains a lot of Australian material but you will have to use Australia as a Keyword or subject.
Not all resources are fulltext and if you can't access the fulltext look for the FindIt@Flinders button or link.Clicking on this will bring your search back to FindIt@Flinders where you will be led to access the full text through another database supplier. (We can hold rights to the same article through several different database publishers - some may offer only a citation while another may allow you to the fulltext so FindIt@Flinders cross references across the databases for you!)
Use Informit to find Australian material * Flinders Search Computers Only
Informit is a great database to use to find Australian Content. It is made up of hundreds of small datasets some are full text and some are just citations (describes the source but you may not be able to access all of it)
It contains academic articles but also newspaper articles, government reports and TV programs.
Not all resources are fulltext and if you can't access the fulltext look for the FindIt@Flinders button or link.Clicking on this will bring your search back to FindIt@Flinders where you will be lead to try and access the full text through another database supplier. (We can hold rights to the same article through several different database publishers - some may offer only a citation while another may allow you to the fulltext so FindIt@Flinders cross references across the databases for you!)
*** Available through State and National Libraries
Suggested resources from Flinders Librarians
Search Smart subject guides recommend the best tools to use to find resources in a subject area.
There are also guides to help you create better searches and understand how to find different kinds of resources.
Still have questions?
Ask in person or visit the help pages online. It is our job to help you use the library effectively for your studies so please ask if you need to!