Endnote libraries can get very big very quick. Luckily you can organise your references in Endnote into groups to make them easier to find and manage.
You can view your groups in the Library Panel.
Right-click on My Groups in the Library Panel and select Create Group.
You can then name the new group. If you need to rename it later, right-click on the group and select Rename Group.
Adding References to a Group
In the Reference List Panel, click and drag the reference to the group.
References can belong to more than one group.
Deleting References from a Group
Deleting a reference from a group doesn't delete it from the library.
You can sort your references in the Reference List Panel by clicking on any of the column headings.
To change what columns are displayed, right-click on any of the headings and select or unselect from the popup list of headings.
Endnote allows you to search your library for specific references or groups of references. You can do a quick search or construct more advanced searches. Both are accessible from the Endnote toolbar.
To run a quick search, type your keywords into the Quick search box in the toolbar.
Use double quote marks (" ") to search for exact phrases.
The quick search will search your references and any attached PDFs for the keywords and will display the references it finds them in in the Reference List Panel. The keywords searched for will be highlighted.
To run a more advanced search, click Show Search Panel in the toolbar.
There are four different parts to the Search Panel. Use the drop down menus to change the options.
- Logical Operators: Determines how to act on each of the keywords listed. Used the same as in database searching. For more help on logical operators, click here.
- Field List: Limit the search to particular fields in reference records, such as author, title, year, etc. You can also limit to searching just PDF files from this list too.
- Comparison List: Indicates how the search should act on the search term (i.e. greater than, less than, contains etc.)
- Search Fields: Where you enter your keywords to search for.
Use the + and - buttons on the right hand side to adjust the number of search lines.
Search results will appear in the Reference List Panel.
Remove a reference from your library by selecting it in the Reference List panel and then either hitting the Delete key, or right-clicking on the reference and selecting Move References to Trash.
The reference will be moved to the Trash bin, which acts like the Windows Recycle Bin, meaning you can recover accidentally deleted references. Select Trash in the Library Panel to see your deleted references.
To recover references. Click and drag them back to the All References group in the Library Panel, or to a group you created.
To permanently delete references in the Trash, right-click on it and select Empty Trash.
Sometimes you may find yourself with duplicate references in your library. This can result in the same reference appearing twice in your reference list. Luckily, Endnote has a Find Duplicates function.
When you have all your references or a group of references displayed in the Reference List Panel, go to the References menu and click Find Duplicates.
If any Endnote finds records it suspects are duplicates, they will be displayed side by side for you to compare and to take an action on.
Fields that are different will be highlighted.
You can choose which record to keep and which to move to the Trash bin. Or you can choose to do nothing if the records aren't actually duplicates.
In most instances, EndNote is able to automatically find and attach PDFs of articles held by the Flinders University Library. For this to work, you must first configure EndNote to connect with FindIt@Flinders.
Configure EndNote to find full text articles
- Within EndNote, click on the Edit menu (if using a PC) or the EndNote menu (if using a Mac)
- Click on Preferences
- Select the Find Full Text panel at the left hand side
- Select the checkbox for OpenURL
- Add the following URL to the OpenURL Path box: http://flinders-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/61FUL/FUL_SERVICES_PAGE
- In the Authenticate With URL box, enter the URL, http://ezproxy.flinders.edu.au/login
- Click on Apply and then OK
Note: You can set EndNote to automatically find full text for all imported references by checking the box below the URLs (see red arrow in diagram below). Not advised if you need to screen articles for relevance first.
Find Full Text within EndNote
- Select one or more references in EndNote
- Click on References
- Click on Find Full Text
- Click on Find Full Text again
- Follow the login prompts which will require you to authenticate via OKTA or remove tick and enter your FAN & password manually
- Once logged in click Continue.
EndNote will now search to find and attach the PDFs. You will see the progress of the search on the left hand panel of EndNote under Find Full Text. Don't interrupt the process until it is finished. Depending on the number of references being searched, this could take some time.
You will eventually get a breakdown of what was found and what could not be found by EndNote. It will look like this.
These will display in the PDF window of EndNote. Click on the icon to fully open the PDF document.
Click on the URL showing in the URL field of the EndNote reference. Follow the links to the full text document. Manually download the PDF and then attach it to its EndNote record.
Not found message
The 'not found' message doesn't necessarily mean the Library doesn't provide access to the full text article. EndNote may not be able to get past the journal's front page to get to it. If you get this message:
- Click on the the URL in the URL field of a reference to be taken to the FindIt@Flinders record for the article.
- Note: If there is no URL in the URL field, copy and paste the article title into FindIt@Flinders instead.
- FindIt@Flinders will display either a Full Text Available message (with accompanying green button) or Check Availability message (orange button).
Full Text Available
- Click on the name of the journal collection showing in the FindIt@Flinders record to go to the journal and/or the article required.This may involve several steps.
- Download the PDF and then manually attach it to its EndNote record.
This means the Library does not provide access to this article. If you are a Postgraduate student or staff member, you can request it via the Library's Document Delivery Service.