Flinders University Library
Search Smart

Foundation Studies

This guide is a great starting point for finding library resources for Foundation Studies

3 research tools to get you started

1. Use FindIt@Flinders to find academic articles

FindIt@Flinders is a great place to start your research for academic articles for your essays.

FindIt@Flinders searches across thousands of journal titles in every subject.

You can limit your searches to Peer Review to ensure it is of a high quality.

Searches can result in large numbers of results so it is worth watching the short video below to learn how to limit a search.

 

 

More Information on peer reviewed articles...


 

2. Use the Proquest database to find articles

 

ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research in:

  • The Arts
  • Business
  • Health & Medicine
  • History
  • Literature & Language
  • Science & Technology
  • Social Sciences

It is relatively easy to use and many of the sources are available in fulltext. It also contains Newspaper articles, trade papers and other useful resources. Proquest contains a lot of Australian material but you will have to use Australia as a Keyword or subject.

Not all resources are fulltext and if you can't access the fulltext look for the FindIt@Flinders button or link.Clicking on this will bring your search back to FindIt@Flinders where you will be led to access the full text through another database supplier. (We can hold rights to the same article through several different database publishers - some may offer only a citation while another may allow you to the fulltext so FindIt@Flinders cross references across the databases for you!) 

Help with searching Proquest...


 

3. Use Informit to find Australian material

Informit is a great database to use to find Australian Content. It is made up of hundreds of small datasets some are full text and some are just citations (describes the source but you may not be able to access all of it)

It contains academic articles but also newspaper articles, government reports and TV programs.

Not all resources are fulltext and if you can't access the fulltext look for the FindIt@Flinders button or link.Clicking on this will bring your search back to FindIt@Flinders where you will be lead to try and access the full text through another database supplier. (We can hold rights to the same article through several different database publishers - some may offer only a citation while another may allow you to the fulltext so FindIt@Flinders cross references across the databases for you!) 

 


Some useful journals to search...

Search

Search all our guides.