Flinders University Library
Search Smart

Midwifery

See this guide for tips on finding library resources for your Midwifery studies or research, including books and journal articles

Databases

Searching:

Finding articles - where do I start? For a quick overview head to the Search Strategies Guide which takes you through the basic steps of searching.  Alternatively look at the Library Search Smart Videos on the right, there are links to short videos that go through the process of searching - start watching the PICO video first and then and work your way through the rest.

How do I search databases? Choosing which database to search will depend on what you are looking for and how extensive your search needs to be. For a basic search you would usually want to search at least one or two specialized health databases (e.g. CINAHL and Medline) and one multidisciplinary database (e.g. Scopus).  Use the tabs across the top here to find useful databases, using the brief descriptions to guide you in your choice.  

If you are unsure about using the databases:

  • take a look at the Database Tutorials tab above for help with individual databases
  • visit the links on the right for some general search tips
  • make an appointment to see your Liaison Librarian.

More advanced searching?  This guide provides resources and activities to guide through more advanced searching for your research or assignments.

 

What are peer-reviewed articles?

If you are unsure what a peer-reviewed article is, take a look at Peer-reviewed articles  or go to Ulrichs to see if a particular journal is peer reviewed.

Referencing

Use the Harvard AGPS6 style when you need to reference. The SLC referencing guide can be found here 

Using EndNote

To find out about downloading and using EndNote view this guide

To use the appropriate output style with EndNote you need to download the Harvard AGPS6 style. Head to  'Using your Computer' and look under EndNote. 

Health specific databases:

These databases are health or biomedical specific

Evidence-based resources:

Need more help?

For help with specific databases look at the Database Tutorials page

 

Multidisciplinary databases:

These databases contain resources across multiple topic areas, including health.  They are particularly good for searching topic areas that cross over with social sciences.

Drug resources:

These resources provide information on specifc drugs and their use 

Loading

Search

Search all our guides.