Flinders University Library
Search Smart

Information Types

Get started finding different kinds of information for your research

eBooks

What are eBooks?

  • Books in electronic format that can be read online
  • May be academic, peer reviewed and scholarly.
  • Some electronic eBooks require special apps or software to view them.
  • The software and apps are freely available online to download to a home computer or device.
  • You can't download the software on the university computers but can always read the books online.
  • Some providers e.g. EBL only allow you to print or save a chapter or percentage of a book

Why do I need to use them?

  • Increasingly common way for the library to buy and distribute books.
  • Convenient because you can access eBooks anywhere at anytime.
  • Some books only available in this format.

How do I find them?

  • FindIt@Flinders - see video below or the FindIt@Flinders Search Smart Guide for more information.
  • The Databases A-Z link on the library homepage.

Common software and apps:

Adobe Digital Editions: Once installed on a PC, it allows you to download eBooks to read and manage offline. Required if you want to download an EBL eBook for a loan period for offline reading, also supports other eBooks in EPUB and PDF formats.
 Bluefire reader: Suitable for Apple and Android devices. It allows you to loan eBooks from EBL that you would otherwise have to download using Adobe Digital Editions, also supports other eBooks in EPUB and PDF formats.

Calibre: Free open source eBook management software capable of converting eBook formats.

 

Note: Some web browsers are known to have a hard time recognizing script components in certain eBooks. Because of this, you may need to go through a "load unsafe scripts" protocol. Screen casts are available that illustrate the correct protocol to correct this issue in FirefoxChrome and Internet Explorer browsers.

More Info

Expand the list below to get more details of our eBook collections





 

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

Books@Ovid eBooks with a focus on the health sciences. Subjects include nursing, medicine, neurology, neurosugery, emergency medicine & trauma, anaesthesiology, audiology, psychology, behavioural & social sciences.

Simple search, advanced search and browse options available.

Quick search box available from books tab or use the search tab for advanced searching.

Use the left hand column to browse alphabetically by title or to browse by subject.

View by clicking the Ovid Full Text link. Navigate using the content column to the left

Links to Save, Print Preview or Email individual sections are available at the top of the section.

Print using the Print Preview link at the top of the section or with the print symbol next to the section title. 

 

Sections save as a text or HTML file. No PDFs available.

You can nominate which email address you choose to send a section to.

 

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 
Short eBooks that synthesise essential scientific topics in biomedical/life sciences. Authored by prominent researchers in the field, they are useful for researchers, lab personnel, and students.

Simple search and browse options available.

Quick search box available in the top left corner of the screen. 

Browse by clicking on the title of a series. 

View by clicking PDF or PDF Plus.

PDF can be saved and printed.

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

Covers ebooks from all areas, incuding sciences, medicine, nursing, arts & humanities, architecture, engineering, history, geography, literature, mathematics, computer science, education, law, library science, pharmacy & religion.

Simple, advanced and browse search options available.

Use Advanced search if you wish to specify which fields to search.

Option to Read Online or Download.

To print a selection of pages, open the ebook and click the Print icon (maximum number of printable pages will be displayed).

Books can be downloaded for a 1 to 7 day loan period to read offline. Adobe Digital Editions is required for personal computers or the Bluefire Reader for iPads, iPhones or Android devices.   

An option exists to create downloadable chapters (in pdf format) that do not expire. Open the book online, select a chapter in the Table of Contents, and click the Download Chapter button.

 

 

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

An EBSCO platform covering ebooks from areas including sciences, medicine, nursing, arts & humanities, architecture, engineering, history, geography, literature, mathematics, computer science, education, law, library science, religion.

Basic and advanced search options available.   Can limit by title, author, subject, ISBN and year of publication.

Use the left hand column to browse by category. 

View by clicking the PDF full text link.

Depending on publisher-specified limits, up to 100 pages may be printed, saved or emailed.   After opening the required section of the ebook, options to save, email or print pages appear at the top of the screen.  To print from an online EBSCOhost ebook, see these printing tips.  For printing downloaded ebooks from within Adobe Digital Editions, note the page numbers in parentheses at the bottom of the screen (don't use the page number in the search box).

 Ebooks may display the option to download, depending on individual publisher specifications.  Adobe Digital Editions  (for personal computers) or the EBSCO eBooks app (for Apple and Android) will need to be installed before downloading EBSCO ebooks.  To download, click Download this eBook (offline).  You will be prompted to sign in to your MyEBSCOhost account, or to create a new account if necessary.  Next, click Checkout and Download then Open to view the downloaded ebook.

 

 

 

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 

 

Humanities & social sciences eBooks published by Duke University Press.

Simple, advanced and browse search options available.

Use simple search to search across all fields or advanced search to define search parameters. Click on the + to add another search box. Results can be refined by subject. 

Browse titles by subject area by clicking on the relevant subject

To view click on the book's title or cover.

Copy and print options available. Click on the InfoTools button in the top left corner. Option to select print range or current chapter, print allowance displayed.

Download option to read offline is not currently available.

 

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Reference works on wide range of subjects including business, literature, science, history, social sciences, technology. 

Simple, advanced and browse search options available.

Simple search box at top of screen. Use advanced search to define search scope and to limit results.

Click on GVRL to browse by subject or click on the Title List link in to navigation bar to browse titles alphabetically.

Search results are from within titles. Click on article title to view article. Click on a book cover or title to view the book's table of contents.

Individual articles can be printed, emailed and downloaded. 

When the article is viewed as text the print, email and download buttons are displayed in the top right menu. The download options allows you to save the article as a PDF or HTML file.    

You can also view articles in a PDF view by clicking on the PDF logo in the top right corner. You can then print using the option in the menu to the right.

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 

Open Knowledge Repository

The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The Open Knowledge Repository is the Bank's official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

Simple, advanced and browse search options available.

Simple search available at the top of the screen or use the links to the left to browse or conduct an advanced search.

Click on title to view document details and select the PDF to download. 

Most documents available to download as a PDF file to save and print. Some documents also available as a text file.

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 

 

Oxford English Dictionary

Guide to the meaning, history & pronunciation of 600,000 words (past & present) from the English-speaking world.

Simple, advanced and browse search options available.

Enter a word in the quick search box to search for main entries, subentries or variant spellings. Use the advanced search to search the full text.

Browse alphabetically, by categories, timelines and sources.

To view entry click on the Full entry link.

The print option is available at the top of the entry.

To use the save option you need to create an account. Entries are only saved to your My OED account.

The Email option sends a link to the entry which is good for three days.

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 

 

Project Gutenberg

Over 46,000 free eBooks. Primarily literature works within the public domain.

Search and browse options available.

Simple keyword search available. See help for defined suffixes, prefixes and operators for advanced searching.

Browse titles alphabetically, by popularity, release date (of digital edition) or view in random order.

Click on the title to view download options.

Most books are available to download in a number of different formats. Available formats typically include text, HTML, EPUB 

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 

 

Project Muse

Humanities and social sciences eBooks from scholarly publishers.

Simple search and browse options available.

Browse by Research Area or browse titles alphabetically.

Enter keywords into the search box and set the scope to Books. Results include book chapters, these can be refined using the facets down the left side of the screen.

Click the Only content I have full access to check box on the left side of the screen to only view what the library subscribes to.

To view the chapter download PDF. To view entire table of contents of the book click on the book's cover or title. 

Book chapters are available to download as a PDF file which can then be saved or printed. 

Chapters may also be viewed as HTML.

 

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 
Books & chapters published by the the American Psychological Association from 1806 to today. Includes out of print books. 

Advanced and simple search options available.

Advanced search attempts to map keywords to subject headings. If no results use Basic Search

Results are generally book chapters. To view click on Ovid Database PDFs. Click on Table of Contents to view books entire contents.

Individual book chapters available as PDF files. These can be saved and printed.

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 

 

Science Direct Reference Works

Accessible and authoritative reference works with a focus on science and medicine.

Advanced search and browse options available.

Browse reference book titles alphabetically. Click the All access types link on the right side of the page and choose Full-text access. To view table of contents click on the books title.

Please note that using the search boxes at the top of the screen will search the entire ScienceDirect database. To limit your search to reference works click on the Advanced search link and select the Reference Works tab.

Results are articles/chapters within reference works. To view click on the PDF or the article title. To view the contents of an entire book click on the article/chapter title and then click on the books cover in the right hand corner.

Individual book articles/chapters are available to download as a PDF file. This can be saved and printed.

Articles can also be read online by clicking on their title.

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 

 

Science Direct

eBooks specialising in science & engineering, and health sciences.

Advanced search and browse options available.

Browse titles alphabetically or by subject. Refine your results to Booksby clicking the All publications link on the right hand side and choosing All books. Show full-text available only by clicking on All access types on the right hand side and choosing Full-text access.

To view table of contents click on the books title.

Please note that using the search boxes at the top of the screen will search the entire ScienceDirect database. To limit your search to books click on the Advanced search link and select the Books tab. Under Source select Subscribed books.

Results are form within books. To view book article/chapter download the PDF or click on the title. To view the entire books contents click on the article/chapter title and then the books cover in the top right of the screen.

Individual book articles/chapters are available to download as a PDF file. This can be saved and printed.

Articles can also be read online by clicking on their title.

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 

 

SpringerLink

eBooks on a range of subjects with a focus on science, technology & medicine.

Simple search and browse options available.

To search enter keywords in the box at the top. Refine your search to Book and uncheck the Include Preview-Only content box.

To browse click on a discipline on the left side of the screen. Refine the search to Book and uncheck the Include Preview-Only content box.

To view click on the book's title.

Individual chapters available for download as a PDF file. These can be saved and printed. Some books also available to be viewed online.

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 
Short eBooks that synthesizes important research or development topics in engineering and computer science subjects, authored by an expert contributor to the field. 

Simple search and browse options available.

Quick search box available in the top left corner of the screen. 

Browse by clicking on the title of a series. 

View by clicking PDF or PDF Plus.

PDF can be saved and printed.

 

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 

 

Plays by North American playwights. Includes rare, out of print & previously unpublished plays from the late 1800s to the present.

Simple, advanced and browse search options available.

Wide range of browse options including by author, title, character and subject.

To view click on the play's title and then the scene or act link.

Plays viewed online.

No download options available.

Link

Description

Search and View Options

Print & Save Options

 

 

Wiley Online Library

Subjects cover life, health & physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Simple, advanced and browse search options available.  

To choose search fields, enter your terms. You can refine your results by clicking on Books on the right side of the screen. 

The Publications link at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen allows you to browse titles alphabetically. Click on Books on the right to limit search.

To browse by subject click on the Browse by Subject tab. Select a subject and then click on a topic to the right side of the screen. Click on Books on the right to limit search. 

To view click on the title. Please note that we only have access to works with the yellow open lock next to them.

Individual book chapters can be downloaded as a PDF file. These can be saved and printed.

You may be interested in the following blogs about ebooks and ebook readers. 

  • Many Books
    http://manybooks.net/
    Free eBooks available to be downloaded in a variety of formats (based around Project Gutenberg). Includes reader reviews and recommendations.
  • The eBook Reader Blog
    http://blog.the-ebook-reader.com/
    A blog with a focus on eBook readers. Focus can be a bit technical but includes comparisons between readers and how to guides.
  • JISC Digital Media
    http://www.jiscdigitalmedia.ac.uk/guide/introduction-to-e-books
    Still confused about eBooks? You might want to read this introduction to eBooks from the JISC Digital Media website. It contains information including what an eBook is, how you read them, eBook formats and even production design considerations.
  • Mobile Read
    http://wiki.mobileread.com/wiki/E-book_conversion
    A wiki with more information then you will ever want to know about converting eBook formats.
Loading

Search

Search all our guides.