Choosing which database to search will depend on what you are looking for and how extensive your search needs to be. Use the tabs across the top here to find useful databases, using the brief descriptions to guide you in your choice.
For a basic search you would usually want to search at least one or two specialized health databases and possibly one multidisciplinary database.
If you are unsure about using the databases:
take a look at the Database tutorials tab above
visit the links on the right for some general search tips
A bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health. Includes theses, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, books, statistical documents. Coverage: 1990 – present.
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals. This database indexes journals from the fields of nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. & consumer health . It also indexes healthcare books and dissertations.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Provides access to citations from the international biomedicine & life sciences literature. In addition to content indexed with NLM’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), this version of Medline includes recently published content with the following NLM statuses: Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, Daily, Versions(R)
Emcare provides evidence-based literature and the latest scientific advancements that support patient treatment in a wide variety of healthcare settings. Core topics include: nursing, nutrition & dietetics, physiotherapy & rehabilitation, critical & intensive care, geriatrics & palliative care, dermatology & wound care, healthcare management, obstetrics & gynaecology, public & occupational health.
PsycBITE is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.
The What Works database has now been launched as a prototype with around 60 interventions included. The Trust is rolling out a year-long programme of consultation with key stakeholders and practitioners in order to ensure the database is fit for purpose and to continue adding further interventions.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Focus is on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Web of Science searches the following indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED), Index Chemicus (IC).