Flinders University Library
Search Smart

Bibliometrics

Flinders University Library's guide to Bibliometrics, research impact and research tools.

Journal Selection

Determining where to publish your research to gain the highest impact in your field is increasingly more important and becoming more difficult. There are tools available to help you determine which reputable journals will give you the most benefit.

Things to consider when choosing your Journal:

  • Relevance to the discipline and if it will reach your desired audience.
  • The quality of the journal and its prestige.

 

Journal quality can be impacted by various factors:

  • Does it qualify for ERA assessment?
    The ERA Journal lists contain a mediated list of journals with coverage of the Australian and New Zealand Standard Research Classification (ANZSRC) Fields of Research. Choosing journals eligible for inclusion in the ERA assessment is suggested.
  • Is it indexed in Scopus or Web of Science?
    Indexing in Scopus and Web of Science is an indication of journal quality. Indexing in large databases also increases your potential audience thus potentially impacting citation rates.
  • Impact Factor & Scopus Journal Analyzer
    The Impact Factor and SCImago Journal Ranking (SJR) are two common measurements or rankings of journal quality. Both measures look at the number of citations the journal has received. SJR also takes into account prestige in its measures.

 

Journal Impact Factor

The impact factor attempts to measure the quality of a journal in terms of its influence on the academic community and is based on citation count. In general, the higher the impact factor, the more important and prestigious the journal within its particular field. A journal's impact factor is defined by a simple calculation: By dividing the number of current citations to articles published in the two previous years by the total number of articles published in the two previous years. Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provides access to journal lists with Impact Factors.

  • When comparing impact factors you need to compare similar authors in the same discipline, using the same database, using the same method.
  • Be sure to indicate limitations.

Scopus Journal Analyzer

The Journal Analyser provides a view of journal performance using Scopus citation data and includes two new journal metrics—SJR and SNIP. Using citations from nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 international publishers, the Journal Analyser goes back to 1996.

The Journal Analyser is only available through a paid subscription to Scopus from Elsevier. Journal Analyser also contains the SNIP and SJR scores.

You can use Journal Analyzer to compare up to 10 Scopus sources on a variety of parameters:

  • SJR (SCImago Journal Rank) - measures the scientific prestige of a scholarly source by assigning a relative score based on a citation network. Available from within the Scopus database (click on Journal Analyzer link) or from the SCImago web site.
  • SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper) - measures contextual citation impact by weighting citations based on the total number of citations in a subject field. Available from within the Scopus database (click on Journal Analyzer link) or from the SNIP web site.
  • Citations - compare sources by the number of times a source has been cited.
  • Documents - compare sources by the number of documents published in a year.
  • % not cited - compare sources by the percentage of documents published in a year that have never been cited to date.

ERA Journal Lists

ERA (Excellence in Research for Australia) is the national assessment of Universities research outputs and occurs every 2-3 years. The ERA Journal lists produced by this assessment list journals that qualify for assessment for the ERA reference period. This mediated list is a place to start or to refer to when you are selecting your journal. The ERA 2015 list is not currently publicly available. If you are a staff member of Flinders University, you can access the list via FAN authentication here.

Multidisciplinary lists
  • Essential Science Indicators includes titles indexed by Web of Science. Titles are divided into 22 broad subject categories. Provides total number of papers, citations and cites per paper
  • Journal Citation Reports includes over 12,000 journals. Citation data taken from Web of Science. Includes impact factor, total citations and articles and cited half-life
  • Scopus Journal Analyzer covers over 16,000 journals from Scopus database. Includes SJR, SNIP, total citations, articles published and articles not cited. Compare up to 10 Scopus sources on a variety of parameters

 

Subject-specific
  • Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from various sources. Covers journals in economics, finance, accounting, management and marketing. Compiled and edited by Professor Anne Harzing.

Freely available ranked journal lists uses tools SCImago Journal Rank List, Google Scholar metrics and Eigenfactor.

SCImago Journal Rank List

SCImago journal rank (SJR) is a journal quality tool developed by Scopus. The Scimago Journal & Country Rank  website uses this Scopus data to provide a simple interface that provides a ranked list of journals by quartile.

Scopus® Subject Areas and Subject Categories: Journals are assigned to 27 major thematic categories as well as to 313 specific subject categories according to Scopus® Classification. You can use these to narrow the output set

Definition: The SCImago Journal Rank seeks to measure the prestige of a journal and is a measure of scientific influence of scholarly journals that accounts for both the number of citations received by a journal and the importance or prestige of the journals where such citations come from.

Limitations: This list is Subject/Discipline specific, you cannot compare rankings across discipline areas. If you work in a multidisciplinary area and have a list of journals you need to compare you can use SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper) from within Scopus to compare Journals across disciplines.

Google Scholar metrics

Seeks to provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarise recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research. You can browse the top 100 publications in several languages, ordered by their five-year h-index and h-median metrics. To see which articles in a publication were cited the most and who cited them, click on its h-index number to view the articles as well as the citations underlying the metrics.

Browse by research area by selecting one of the broad areas and drilling down into the subcategories.

Definition: Information on the underlying data on which the metrics are based can be found here.

Limitations: This list is Subject/Discipline specific, you cannot compare rankings across discipline areas. If you work in a multidisciplinary area and have a list of journals you need to compare you can use SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper) from within Scopus to compare Journals across disciplines.

Eigenfactor

The Eigenfactor.org website provides a freely available, searchable database of Eigenfactor scores and Article Influence scores for the numerous journals covered in Thomson-Reuters Journal Citation Reports. Eigenfactor uses ISI Category (Thomson Reuters) subject discipline categories. Eigenfactor scores are scaled so that the sum of the Eigenfactor scores of all journals listed in Thomson's Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is 100.

Definition: A journal's Eigenfactor score measures its importance to the scientific community. Journals are rated according to the number of incoming citations, with citations from highly ranked journals weighted to make a larger contribution to the eigenfactor than those from poorly ranked journals. As a measure of importance, the Eigenfactor score scales with the total impact of a journal. All else equal, journals generating higher impact to the field have larger Eigenfactor scores.

Limitations: This list is Subject/Discipline specific, you cannot compare rankings across discipline areas. If you work in a multidisciplinary area and have a list of journals you need to compare you can use SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper) from within Scopus to compare Journals across disciplines.

Article Influcence Score (Eigenfactor)

The mean Article Influence Score is 1.00.  An Article Influence Score greater than 1.00 indicates that the articles in a journal have an above-average influence.

Definition: Measures the average influence, per article, of the papers published in a journal. Calculated by dividing the Eigenfactor by the number of articles published in the journal.  

Limitations: This list is Subject/Discipline specific, you cannot compare rankings across discipline areas. If you work in a multidisciplinary area and have a list of journals you need to compare you can use SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper) from within Scopus to compare Journals across disciplines.

Loading