Flinders University Library
Search Smart

Bibliometrics

Flinders University Library's guide to Bibliometrics, research impact and research tools.

Find your H-index

Find your H-index

Researcher Impact, Author impact, H-index etc

H-index is a measure of researcher impact. Before attempting to find your h-index ensure you have a complete and accurate reflection of your publication and research activities. Simply put the h-index is a measure of the number of highly impactful papers a researcher has published. The h-index is defined by how many h of a researcher’s publications (Np) have at least h citations each.

H-index limitations

  • In general you can only compare values within a single discipline. Different citation patterns will mean, for example, an average medical researcher will generally have much larger h-index value than a world-class mathematician.
  • The h-index may be less useful in some disciplines, particularly some areas of the humanities.

ORCID® (Open Researcher and Contributor ID)
Flinders University is implementing ORCID® (Open Researcher and Contributor ID). ORCID has integrations with Scopus Author ID and Researcher ID which allows you to easily push and pull your publications information to and from ORCID while simultaneously updating your Scopus Author ID and Researcher ID profiles. Sign up for ORCID @ Flinders through Flinders University and follow the instructions on how to update your ORCID record.

You can use Scopus, Web of Science and your Google Scholar profile to find your h-index. Remember these databases have different coverage so use the one that makes you look the best!

Make a Google Citations profile

This requires a Google account (if you have ever signed in to use Gmail, Google Drive, or Youtube, you already have one of these). Otherwise create a new Google account.

  1. Go to http://scholar.google.com.au/citations and sign in with your Google account.
  2. Fill out the next page with your information -  Enter your name, click Select Research Domain (don’t click anything here), Click Select Organization, choose University
  3. Go to the next page and search for your articles.
  4. In the next step, give Google permission to Automatically update the list of articles in your profile - if it gets it wrong, you can always remove them later.
  5. This will also provide your H-Index and total citations in Google Scholar.

Strengths

  • Covers a wider range of sources, (especially conferences, technical reports and eprints).
  • Easier to calcualte some of the less common metrics (since it is not linked to proprietary data).

Disadvantages

  • Maybe considered a less authoritarian resources than Web of Science.
  • More difficult to search when there are multiple authors with the same family name & initials-limited options to refine
  • There may be duplication of results, so check carefully.
  • Coverage is primarily medical, scientific, and technical.
  • Coverage is primarily English language.

From the Library homepage

  1. Log in to Scopus with your Flinders FAN and password. An ORCID ID would be very useful here but not absolutely necessary.
  2. Go to Scopus from the Flinders University Library Databases page: http://www.flinders.edu.au/library/ (under the heading Finding – Databases --> Search for Scopus).

In Scopus

  1. Go to the Author Search tab
  2. Enter your name or enter your ORCID iD and search. In the results screen, tick the names/results that match you.
  3. View Citation Overview.
  4. View h-graph.
  5. (You can Sort on: Date or Cited by on the right hand side column of the results).

If you had to choose more than one name to see your H-Index & Citations

  • Tick the boxes next to your names, and choose “request to merge authors”.

If you noticed that it had your old institution

  • Click your name, and on the next page, choose “request author detail corrections”.

You can also update these details via your ORCID profile (Scopus to ORCID).

From the Library homepage

  1. Log in to Web of Science with your Flinders FAN and password.
  2. Go to Web of Science from the Flinders University Library Databases page: http://www.flinders.edu.au/library/ (under the heading Finding – Databases --> Search for Web of Science).

In Web of Science

  1. Enter author name in the basic search box (Enter last name, a space, & the first initial of the first name).
  2. When searching by author, make sure that you change the dropdown option from Topic to Author.
  3. Select Research Doman – leave blank.
  4. Select Organisation – Go to F and select all Flinders related institutions.
  5. Click on Finish search.
  6. Tick boxes that match your publications and then choose ‘Create Citation Report’.
  7. OR select create citation report and then remove individual items from the citation report (this might be easier depending on the number of publications).

If you noticed something is wrong with your Web of Science results

Web of Science gets its data from ResearcherID - you will need to create a profile at http://researcherid.com or update your existing profile.

Loading